Tags

, , , , , , ,

Disney’s “Frozen

Frozen-movie-posterDirected By: Chris Buck & Jennifer Lee
Produced By: Peter Del Vecho
Screenplay By: Jennifer Lee
Based On:The Snow Queen” by Hans Christian Andersen

For this review, I shall go over originality of the story, the music, and a few minor nitpicks. That being said, I’m just going to get this out there right now. I love this movie. I love this movie so much that in the hour following my viewing of it, I purchased the soundtrack and art book before proceeding to dive through whatever fanfiction that has been written for it.

Just as every fairy tale that has come before it, Disney has taken some creative deviance to the original tale of Hans Christian Anderson’s “The Snow Queen”. It’s rather ironic to me that the tale is “loosely based on” when really I feel that it should be labeled as “inspired by”. There is little connection with the original story and its all the better for it. I shan’t go into detail of the overall plot, that’s what Wikipedia (both Disney and regular), are for but I will say that this was one of the few movies I’ve ever seen that has caught me by surprise with a twist that puts Shyamalan to shame. What is this twist you wonder? The reveal of the film’s villain, something I shan’t spoil for anyone for how unexpectedly it occurs. Even with the foreknowledge of who the villain is, watching Frozen a second time had only minor glimpses to this character’s true intentions, intentions that could easily be misinterpreted as good even with knowing their true agenda.

Like most Disney films before it, Frozen is packed with music and while it follows the usual methodology of insert song here that everyone can inexplicably dance and sing to without question, the songs are all still quite enjoyable. However, a few of the best songs, particular “Do You Want to Build a Snowman?” and “For the First Time in Forever” (original & reprised) are heavy with plot related lyrics so listen to them at your own discretion. That being said though, out of the many songs littering this movie, I found the song, “Let It Go” to be the most enjoyable not just for Idina Menzel’s spectacular singing voice the visuals… My God, the visuals are breathtaking… Much as I regret Disney’s slow deviation away from traditional animation, the kind of visuals that were accomplished in the sequence for “Let It Go” could not possibly be accomplished by hand. Don’t believe me? Click the link and see it for yourselves but again, be warned, there is some plot revealing amidst the music.

Now as I’m sure many of you are wondering, if I love this movie so much, what is there that I could possibly nitpick about? Well, as I stated earlier, Frozen is packed with songs. So packed that it seemed to me that there was more singing than actual dialogue occurring between characters in some precarious situations. There was probably all of five minutes between every song in the movie and while the songs are quite enjoyable to listen to and watch on the silver screen, it’d be nice to have the plot be moved along through some regular dialogue too.

Lastly, and likely the most petty nitpick I have for this movie, is the fact that they never reveal where Elsa’s powers come from. Sure, there’s a casual mention of her being born with her powers but no explanation as to why she was or why her sister has none of her own. Considering how much thought went into explaining Rapunzel’s abundant hair and why it couldn’t be cut even after she left the tower, one would think there’d be something said about the origins of Elsa’s dominion over ice and snow. I assume that they were actually trying to step away from getting Frozen compared to Tangled by having a similar “origin story” beginning but even so, they could have easily mentioned it in as casual a way as it was explained in the movie.

Overall I give Disney’s Frozen a solid 5 out of 5 stars because again, despite my petty nitpicks, this is a movie that truly, truly makes me feel like we are now at the beginning of a new Disney Renaissance.

