Tags

, , , , ,

Studio Ghibli’s “The Wind Rises

 

Directed & Written By: Hayao Miyazaki
Produced By: Toshio Suzuki
Based On: Kaze Tachinu by Hayaou Miyazaki

There are some films where the director’s puts their heart into its conception. Then there are films where the director puts all that they are to see it as they envisioned it to be. There are films that embody a person, their hopes and their dreams, or even those of their home nation. There are films that create a love the likes of which brings a smile whilst others create a romance that brings tears to one’s eyes.

Never, in the entirety of my life, have I seen everything I’ve just described in a single picture. They say that this is Hayao Miyazaki’s last film before his retirement that he was quoted as saying that he wanted to “make something beautiful.”

He didn’t.

The Wind Rises is not a beautiful film. To call it such is to bring shame to the word beautiful for the word just cannot do the film justice and it cowers beneath the greatness that is this animated picture. The Wind Rises… There aren’t enough words in the English dictionary for me to begin to describe to you, to anyone, just how amazing it was to watch this film.

There were moments that I was elated, where I felt myself a child once more and soaring to new heights on the wind of my dreams and imagination. There were moments where I was horrified, frightened by the tragedies that nature could inflict as the very ground came alive like a furious god and threatened to envelop the whole of the city in flames. I clenched my fists tightly as I watched men and women, young and old, stand up to these events and doing everything in their power to keep on living despite the horrors that surrounded them.

There were times where I felt despondent, an adult living in a world that was filled with hardships trying to smother away the few precious things that make life worth living. There were times that I smiled, my heart aflutter with the love of a summertime romance and I wept, yes, I wept at the union of two beautiful souls becoming one once more.

I shall not spoil this movie for you, my readers, by narrating a plot that any person can simply put down as words upon a page. Instead, I will insist that you and yours take a mere few hours of your life and spend it not watching this movie, but being entrenched, enveloped, and enraptured by it.

You will not be disappointed, I guarantee it.

